A celebration of Nebraska books

Written by Tina Walker, Library Services Associate

The Nebraska Center for the Book is celebrating Nebraska authors on November 6, 2010.  The Calvin T. Ryan Library display for November 6 – 12 will celebrate the following award winning books:

1. 2010 Jane Geske Award Winner

Plainsongs – poetry magazine of Hastings College

2. 2010 One Book One Nebraska Winner

The Home Place – by Wright Morris

3. 2010 Nebraska Book Award Winners

African Americans on the Great Plains: An Anthology – by Bruce A. Glasrud and Charles A. Braithwaite

Anthology Honor:
The Loren Eiseley Reader – by Loren C. Eisley

“I Do Not Apologize for the Length of This Letter”: The Mari Sandoz Letters on Native American Rights, 1940-1965 –  by Mari Sandoz and Kimberli A. Lee

Cover/Design/Illustration Honor:
Great Plains: America’s Lingering Wild – by Michael Forsberg

A Sandhills Ballad –  by Ladette Randolph

“I Am a Man”: Chief Standing Bear’s Journey for Justice – by Joe Starita

Nonfiction Honor:
Louise Pound: Scholar, Athlete, Feminist Pioneer – by Robert Cochran

Garden of Stars – by Dwaine Spieker

Young Adult:
Some Girls Bite
– by Chloe Neill

UPDATED NOV. 11Images of this display are posted on the library’s Flickr account.